What Is a Class 4 Oven? – Hotpoint Oven Classes Explained

Baking in oven

When shopping for an oven, you might notice that some products are labelled with a class number such as “Class 4”.

If you research ovens a bit more deeply, you will notice that it’s only Hotpoint models that have a class number.

This means that Hotpoint oven classes aren’t an industry established standard, but simply part of Hotpoint’s product naming conventions.

Hotpoint oven classes range from Class 2 to Class 6. In general, the higher the class, the more expensive the product and the more advanced the features.


Comparison of Class 2, 4 and 6 ovens

To explain the differences between the classes, let’s look at three similar products in different classes.

Class 2 – Hotpoint SA2540HIX Electric Oven

Hotpoint Class 2 SA2540HIX Electric Oven

This is a single electric oven with a capacity of 66 litres and an energy efficiency rating of A.

It has five oven functions. This is one of the cheapest ovens in Hotpoint’s range.


Class 4 – Hotpoint SA4 544 H IX Electric Oven

Hotpoint Class 4 SA4 544 H IX Electric Oven

This oven looks very similar to the one above. It has a slightly larger capacity at 71 litres and is slightly more expensive (at the time of writing).

This oven offers seven oven functions, so it’s a bit more versatile than the Class 2 product.

Like the Class 2 Hotpoint SA2540HIX, it has an energy efficiency rating of A.


Class 6 – Hotpoint SI6 874 SC IX Electric Oven

Hotpoint Class 6 SI6 874 SC IX Electric Oven

Like the other two products looked at here, this is a single electric oven. However, you can see immediately that it looks a bit more stylish and modern than the cheaper Class 2 and Class 4 models. That’s partly because it uses touch control rather than traditional knobs for controlling cooking settings.

This oven has a 73-litre capacity, so it offers more cooking space than the Class 2 and 4 models. It also has a better energy efficiency rating (A+).

This product is more expensive than the Class 2 and Class 4 models, but it offers some additional features including a soft-closing door that doesn’t slam shut, plus “Recipes Expert”, which is a feature that suggests cooking parameters based on what you are cooking.


Explanation of most popular oven classes

Now that we have looked at some examples of ovens in the different classes, we can answer the following questions:

  • What is a “Class 2” oven? – A Class 2 oven is one of Hotpoint’s more basic and affordable models. It will often have a smaller capacity, lower energy efficiency rating and offer less features than models of a higher class.
  • What is a “Class 4” oven? – A Class 4 oven is a mid-priced oven from Hotpoint. It will usually offer a better capacity, energy rating and more features than a Class 2 oven, but not be as advanced as a Class 6 oven.
  • What is “Class 6” oven? – A Class 6 oven is one of Hotpoint’s most advanced and expensive models. It will often have a bigger capacity, better energy efficiency rating and offer more features than models of a lower class.


Are Hotpoint Classes the same as electrical appliance classes?

No, Hotpoint classes don’t have anything to do with classes of electrical appliance. Electrical appliances are classed as Class 0, I, II or III, depending on their protective-earth connection requirements. Hotpoint oven classes don’t have any relation to this way of classifying electrical appliances.


Summary: What are Hotpoint oven classes?

Hotpoint oven classes are a naming convention used to differentiate more basic, inexpensive models from more advanced, expensive models.

Oven classes range from Class 2 to Class 6, with Class 2 being used for the cheapest and most basic models, and Class 6 being used for the most technologically advanced and expensive ovens in Hotpoint’s range.

We hope this explanation of Hotpoint oven classes has helped clear up any confusion.

If you’re trying to choose a new oven, see our list of the best built-under double ovens.